Suspended & Occupational Licenses
DWI Attorneys in Denton Helping You Get Back on the Road Legally
Our Denton DWI attorneys at The Law Office of Gregory C. Goline have years of experience in successfully obtaining Occupational Driver’s License for our clients, allowing them to continue with their normal, day-to-day lives with as little interference as possible.
My license is suspended! Does that mean I’m not allowed to drive at all? What do I do?
Not necessarily! Just because your driver’s license gets suspended doesn’t mean you don’t have the right to continue to drive to meet your actual and essential needs. If your driver’s license is suspended, you are usually allowed to apply for and obtain an Occupational Driver’s License, which would allow you to continue to drive to work, take your children to school, and other important things.
What procedure must I follow to obtain an occupational driver’s license?
Obtaining an Occupational Driver’s License can be complicated. Our Denton DWI lawyer will take the frustration, stress, and pressure of this detailed process off of your shoulders. Our office will take care of everything involved in the “behind the scenes” process that eventually leads you to the moment where the Judge grants you an ODL.
Once the Judge grants you an ODL, you will receive an order from the court that will serve as your driver’s license for up to 30 days, allowing you time to receive a hard-copy of your ODL.
What does an ODL allow? Can I drive legally?
An ODL allows you to drive a specific number of hours per day in a number of counties as determined by the court. A routine ODL order allows people six hours a day of actual behind-the-wheel driving time to take care of their actual and essential needs. If a person drives a vehicle for a living or spends a larger portion of the day driving, more than the typical six-hour allowance can be obtained.
What’s in the ODL small print? What are the details?
The Court Order is NOT the occupational license. It is the Order granting the request for an occupational license. The Court Order and ALL other required items must be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the issuance of an occupational license.
The Court Order can be used for 30 days from the date of the Judge’s signature as an occupational driver’s license to give the Texas DPS time to have your actual license sent to you by mail.
You must mail the following items to the Texas Department of Public Safety:
- A Certified copy of the Court Order Granting the Occupational License;
- A check or money order for the issuance of the occupational license. The fee for the first year is $10.00 and $20.00 for the second year, if applicable.
- SR-22 Certificate of Insurance – no other insurance other than SR-22 insurance will be accepted.
In addition to the fee for the issuance of the occupational license, you must also submit the required reinstatement fee; the fees are listed as follows:
- Blood or Breath Refusal or Failure – $125.00
- Driving While Intoxicated – $100.00
- Drug Offenses – $100.00
Mail all of the required items above to the following address:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Central Cash Receiving
P.O. Box 15999
Austin, Texas 78761-5999
Contact Our Denton DWI Defense Attorneys Today
To discuss your case, schedule a consultation with our firm. We accept credit cards, offer payment plans, and can be reached at (940) 400-0475.
Numerous Firm Awards & Recognitions
Personalized Representation Focused on Achieving Results
Personalized Care & Attention for All of Our Clients
Respected by Peers within the Legal Community of North Texas
Experience & Familiarity with the Local Court Systems
Flexible Availability, Including on Weekends & Nights